Board of Directors

The Clearwater Underground Water Conservation District was created by the 71st Texas Legislature on June 14, 1989 by HB 3172. A temporary Board of Directors was appointed in June 1999, to serve until the CUWCD was confirmed by the voters of Bell County. The voters confirmed the District’s creation in August 1999, at which time five directors were elected.

The May 4, 2002 election was the first election that the directors were elected from the four county commissioner precincts, with one director elected at-large. Terms were staggered to ensure continuity in the operation of the Board. Directors serve a four-year term, while the officer positions are elected by the Board each year.

The Clearwater Underground Water Conservation District (CUWCD) will be accepting applications for candidates seeking the director positions for Precincts 2, 4 and the At-Large position. The CUWCD precincts mirror the county commissioner precincts in Bell County. The At-Large position on the Board mirrors that of the County Judge. The next filing period begins July 23, 2022 and ends August 22, 2022, for all three director positions. Filing for these positions is necessary for a place on the ballot and subsequent Election to be held on Tuesday, November 8, 2022. The five CUWCD Directors serve four-year terms. The terms are staggered with positions in Precincts 1 and 3 up for election this year, and Precincts 2, 4 and At-Large will be up for election in 2022.

Clearwater UWCD, a political subdivision of the State of Texas adheres to the described Web Posting Advisory, Election Advisory No. 2019-19 for more details on web posting requirements; however, the requirements are summarized below. As of January 1, 2020, each county shall maintain a website. (Sec. 26.16(a), as amended by S.B. 2, 86th Regular Session, 2019).

All political subdivisions with the authority to tax that maintain a website any time after January 1, 2019, must post the following items on the entity’s internet website:

  1. The political subdivision’s contact information, including a mailing address, telephone number, and e-mail address; and
  2. Each elected officer of the political subdivision; and
  3. The date and location of the next election for officers of the political subdivision: and
  4. The requirements and deadline for filing for candidacy of each elected office of the political subdivision which shall be continuously posted or at least one year before the election day for the office; and
  5. Each notice of a meeting of the political subdivision’s governing body under Subchapter C, Chapter 551 of the Government Code; and
  6. Each record of a meeting of the political subdivision’s governing body under Section 551.021 of the Government Code. (H.B. 305, 86th Regular Session, 2019)

Precinct 2’s current office holder is Mr. C. Gary Young of Salado Texas and has served on the board since 2015 and has also been the board’s secretary since 2017.

Precinct 4’s current office holder is Mr. Scott Brooks, of the Stillman Valley Community in Youngsport. Mr. Brooks was appointed to the board to serve the unexpired term for Mrs. Judy Parker who resigned from the board, because of her retirement and move to Port Aransas in 2018. Mr. Brooks was first elected to the Board during the November election 2020.

The current At-Large position holder is Mr. R. David Cole of Killeen. Mr. Cole was first elected to the Board in 2013 and has been the board’s Vice-President since 2018.

The district’s general manager, Dirk Aaron, serves as the filing officer (assistant secretary to the Board of Directors) and will except applications at the district headquarters during normal business hours. Applicants for a place on the ballot must be United States citizens, resident of the precinct for which there are applying for and registered to vote in the same precinct they wish to serve. Complete information on elections for political subdivisions such as CUWCD can be viewed at:

Applications for a place on the ballot can be requested at the district headquarters by calling 254-933-0120 or email or by going to the following link at:

The applications must be delivered in person to the District office no sooner than 8:00 am on July 23, 2022 and prior to close of business on August 22, 2022 (5:00pm). More information on the district and current board of directors can be accessed at .

The Clearwater Underground Water Conservation District (CUWCD) was formed in 1989 to protect and manage the groundwater resources of Bell County. The District regulates water well drilling, spacing, and groundwater production. It also provides groundwater conservation strategies, groundwater production and groundwater quality and all groundwater well registrations.

The District supports and promotes public education and conservation of all groundwater resources in Bell County. Groundwater resources include portions of two major aquifers – the Edwards (Balcones Fault Zone BFZ) and the three defined layers of the Trinity. The District policy and governance is determined on Board direction per the district rules and a management plan per Chapter
36 Texas Water Code.

The District manages groundwater resources for the benefit of its constituents and the common good of groundwater users throughout Bell County. Its powers are defined in Chapter 36 of the Texas Water Code and its jurisdiction is Bell County, about 1,055 square miles. The five-member Board of Directors sets policy and a professional staff manages day-to-day operations. The District hired Dirk Aaron, as General Manager in May of 2011 and moved forward to their new facility in April of 2012. Mr. Aaron, and his administrative assistant, Shelly Chapman, manage the day-to-day operation of the District with a staff of four. The Board of Directors meet monthly, and all board meetings are posted on the District website at

Polling Locations for Bell County are maintained at the Bell County Elections Department at

Filing applications are available at the CUWCD office in Belton at 700 Kennedy Court starting on Thursday June 23, 2022. Feel free to contact CUWCD at 254-933-0120 for additional information or visit the CUWCD website at

Internet Posting Requirements for Political Subdivisions

Important Election Dates 2020-2022

Candidacy Filing – Local Political Subdivisions

Election Notification

Bell County Precincts

Copyright © 2017 Underground Water Conservation District, All Rights Reserved.
Powered by Engineer Austin, LLC